Jim Gavin has named a strong Dublin team to face Monaghan in their Allianz League opener on Sunday tomorrow.

Nine of last year's All-Ireland winning team have been named to start their League title defence in Clones.

Evan Comerford gets the nod in goals, Cuala's Conor Mullally who made his Championship debut in last year's Super 8s game against Roscommon, will line out at corner back alongside the experienced Mick Fitzsimons.

Brian Fenton and Michael Darragh Macauley - two former Footballer of the Year winners - will anchor the midfield.

Paul Mannion, Dean Rock and Con O'Callaghan make up a formidable full-forward line.

Dublin team v Monaghan: Evan Comerford; Eric Lowndes, Mick Fitzsimons, Conor Mullally; Eoin Murchan, Jonny Cooper, John Small; Brian Fenton, Michael D. Macauley; Brian Howard, Cormac Costello, Niall Scully; Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Con O’Callaghan.