Westmeath 1-12 Dublin 0-10

Ger Egan led the line superbly as Westmeath scored a rare win over Dublin to claim the Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup title.

The former captain struck a brilliant 1-05 at Parnell Park, including 1-04 from open play, as Jack Cooney's side claimed the title for the first time since 1988.

It's silverware at his first attempt for new boss Cooney whose team play Offaly in the opening round of their Division 3 Allianz League campaign on Sunday week.

Dublin based Tommy McDaniel weighed in with three points too for Westmeath who went one better than last year's final defeat to Meath.

It remains to be seen how many of Dublin's players are involved on Sunday week when the League title holders play Monaghan in Clones.

Paul Clarke was in charge of a development squad again and handed game time to 23 different players on the evening.

Dublin initially named the same team that beat Meath after penalties in the semi-final last weekend but made two late alterations.

Wing-back Cian O'Connor and midfielder Darren Gavin, both of whom played for UCD in the Sigerson Cup yesterday, were replaced by Andrew McGowan and Jack Hazley.

McGowan and centre-back Conor Mullally were the only two Dublin starters that featured in last year's Championship, both players coming on against Roscommon in the Super 8s.

Westmeath were far closer to full strength and included 2018 vice-captain James Dolan in the half-back line after missing last summer's Championship to travel.

Like Meath last weekend, Westmeath were the dominant side early on and should have led by more than 0-05 to 0-04 at half-time.

They kicked five wides in the half and Noel Mulligan had a goal chance smothered by Dublin goalkeeper Andy Bunyan.

Westmeath regulars Egan and Kieran Martin provided the classy moments and contributed three of those first-half points.

The duo team up for a sumptuous 33rd minute score when Martin caught a kick-out and fed Egan who soloed clear and split the posts.

Dublin struggled to break down Westmeath's fortified defence with Aaron Byrne, the 2017 All-Ireland U-21 Player of the Year, their best forward.

The Na Fianna talent, a penalty scorer last weekend, hit two eye-catching first-half points.

But it was far from a classic contest despite perfect conditions and the feeling was that it could only improve.

Westmeath injected some quality into the game after the restart with three points in a row in the opening five minutes to open up a double scores, 0-8 to 0-4, advantage.

Egan upped the ante and curled over a beauty from distance after converting a free.

Dublin brought on 2018 senior panellists Conor McHugh and Colm Basquel and McHugh cut the deficit with a 42nd minute point.

But another Egan point left Westmeath four clear again and Dublin looked in real trouble with 20 minutes to go.

Westmeath sealed the win with a 58th minute goal from Egan when he followed up on an initial blocked shot to gather up the rebound and hammer it home.

Westmeath: Eoin Carberry; Killian Daly, Ronan Wallace, Boidu Sayeh; James Dolan, Noel Mulligan, David Lynch; Sean Flanagan, Sam Duncan; Ger Egan (1-05, 0-01f), Callum McCormack, Noel O'Reilly; Joe Halligan, Kieran Martin (0-01), Ronan O'Toole (0-02).

Subs: Tommy McDaniel (0-03) for McCormack (10), Ger Leech (0-01) for Halligan (51), Conor Slevin for Flanagan (60), James Maxwell for McDaniel (70), Ned Cully for O'Toole (73).

Dublin: Andy Bunyan; Nathan Doran, Sean McMahon, Ciaran Smith; Andrew McGowan, Conor Mullally, Robbie McDaid; Cormac Howley, Jack Hazley; Ryan Basquel, Aaron Byrne (0-03), Sean Bugler (0-03); Callum Pearson, Stephen Smith (0-01, 0-01f), Oisin Lynch.

Subs: Colm Basquel for Lynch (h/t), Tom Lahiff for Hazley (h/t), Conor McHugh (0-03, 0-02f) for Pearson (h/t), Shane Boland for Ryan Basquel (50), Declan Monaghan for McGowan (55), Cormac Diamond for Smith (60), Liam Flatman for Doran (65), Lorcan Galvin for Howley (65).

Referee: David Hickey (Carlow).