The Clare footballers defeated Cork on a scoreline of 1-09 to 0-09 to win the McGrath Cup for the first time since 2008.

Cork were quickest off the mark in Miltown Malbay with Cian Kiely opening the scoring after four minutes.

Then four minutes later, a long range shot from Gordon Kelly found the net to put the home side ahead.

In challenging conditions scores were hard to come by, Stephen Sherlock kicked two frees for Cork while Cathal O'Connor with two points and Gary Brennan with one gave Clare a half-time lead of 1-03 to 0-03.

Clare started the second-half strongly with points from Brennan and Keelan Sexton extending their lead.

However Cork rallied, scoring the next five points and with 50 minutes on the clock the sides were level.

Colm Collins' side reacted well to the Cork onslaught, they powered home with four unanswered points in the closing stages to seal a 1-09 to 0-09 victory and claim their 13th title.

Clare will host Donegal in their Allianz League opener while Cork travel to Fermanagh.