Former Waterford star Marie Crotty says that it’s "a massive honour" to be inducted into the Ladies Gaelic Football Association Hall of Fame.

Crotty, renowned as one of the greatest players ever to hail from county Waterford, will be officially honoured at the TG4 All Star awards banquet at the Citywest Hotel, in association with Lidl, on Saturday night.

As a player with the famed Ballymacarbry club, Crotty claimed an incredible haul of ten All-Ireland senior medals, including a seven-in-a-row, and 14 Munster titles.

At inter-county level with the Déise, Crotty's claimed five All-Ireland and eight provincial championships. She is also the proud holder of five All Star awards and she made history in 1986 when she became the first woman to score a point in Croke Park during that year's All-Ireland junior final

Since retiring from football, Crotty has served in various coaching roles with the Coralstown club in Westmeath, underage teams in Ballymacarbry and, most recently, the Round Tower Club in Clondalkin. Added to that was overseeing midweek training sessions for Waterford players in the capital.

Speaking about her induction into the Hall of Fame, Crotty said: "It’s a massive honour to get an award for something you love being part of.

"There are no words to describe it – I never thought I’d be anywhere in that category."

The four provincial Young Players of the Year will also receive their awards on Saturday night, namely Chellene Trill (Galway and Connacht), Aoife Rattigan (Kildare and Leinster), Síofra O’Shea (Kerry and Munster) and Megan Ryan (Donegal and Ulster).

The 2018 TG4 All Star team will also be revealed, along with the TG4 senior, intermediate and junior Players’ Player of the Year award winners.

Facebook viewers can tune in for a flavour of the night at 6:30pm, when the Ladies Gaelic Football Association and Spórt TG4 Facebook Pages will simultaneously broadcast Facebook Live from the Red Carpet, featuring a host of the game’s top stars, before proceedings officially get underway.