Eoghan Rua 1-12 Lavey 0-12

Eoghan Rua Coleraine are the Derry senior football champions for a second time after a fully deserved three-point victory over Lavey in front of 3,700 spectators in Celtic Park on Sunday.

Colm McGoldrick became only the second ever Eoghan Rua man to lift the John McLaughlin trophy as Lavey left it too late with a late second-half charge led by half-time substitute Cailean O'Boyle who scored 0-7 after being introduced.

Lavey had started well, pressing the favourites and creating chances but they would regret some wasteful shooting as the ended the half with five wides and two shots dropped short after failing to score for the final 25 minutes of the half.

In contrast, Coleraine had the composure of a side who had played in county finals before even if this was only the third in their history and eight years since that solitary victory back in 2010.

It took Chris Henry only 45 seconds to open the scoring for Lavey and while Gavin McWilliams levelled Eamon McGill put Lavey back in front and things looked set  for a tight half.

However McGill's point would be his side final score until the first minute of the second half.

In between Coleraine took control with Daly's 11th minute goal the platform on which they built. The live-wire corner-back covered almost every inch of the Celtic Park pitch and when Colm McGoldrick spotted his run, Daly's miscontrol actually offered the chance to finish first time and he took the opportunity with some panache for a 1-02 0-02.

With Niall Holly controlling midfield matter, Coleraine went into game management mode for the remainder of the half, calming the temp down when necessary and frustrating the youthful Lavey line-up.

Liam McGoldrick, determined to prove Daly wasn't the only scoring member of Coleraine's full back line, then popped up with two fine points. Those points came either side of a Colm McGoldrick free for Coleraine and while Eamon McGill saw an effort strike the posts, Lavey were second best as they turned around trailing 1-05 to 0-2.

The Erin's Own responded by sending on O'Boyle and Colm Murphy and the former scored within 28 seconds of the restart.

O'Boyle's presence gave the Erin's Own an attack it had been missing first half but Coleraine never panicked and the loss of the experienced  Michael Drumm to a text book black cardwas a major blow. 

Liam McGoldrick and Anthony McGurk swapped points for 1-07 to 0-06 with 43 minutes on the clock while Colm McGoldrick extended the lead still further and at 1-10 to 0-06 Coleraine looked to have the game won.

That was until O'Boyle grabbed three successive frees to offer Lavey hope once more at 1-10 to 0-09 with three minutes to play. Liam Murphy brought it back to a one score game but that man Liam McGoldrick surged forward to win his side a crucial free which Gavin McWilliams tapped over.

Niall Toner and another O'Boyle free left only two between the sides but the goal Lavey needed never came as Sean Leo McGoldrick's late point signalled a second Derry senior title for Eoghan Rua.

Scorers - Eoghan Rua: Barry Daly (1-0), Gavin McWilliams  (0-2), Colm McGoldrick (0-4, 4f), Liam McGoldrick (0-4, 2f), Ciaran McGoldrick (0-1), Sean Leo McGoldrick (0-1)

Lavey: Chris Henry (0-1); Eamon McGill (0-1), Cailean O'Boyle (0-7, 6f), Anthony McGurk (0-1), Liam Murphy (0-1), Niall Toner (0-1)

Eoghan Rua: Ryan McGeough; Ciaran Lagan, Liam McGoldrick, Barry Daly; Ciaran Mullan, Barry McGoldrick, Ciaran Lenehan; Niall Holly, Paul Daly; Ruairi Mooney, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Gavin Williams; Mark McTaggart, Colm McGoldrick, Ciaran McGoldrick.

Subs: Declan Mullan for M McTaggart (37 mins).

Lavey: Ciaron O'Boyle; Aidan Toner, Conor Mulholland, Shane Lagan; Colm Dillon, Michael Drumm, Eamon McGill; Damina Chivers, Caolan McGurk; Shane McGill, Niall Toner, Anthony McGurk; Chrissy Henry, Kevin O'Neill, Declan Hughes.

Subs: Cailean O'Boyle for K O'Neill, HT; Colm Murphy for C Dillon, HT; Sam Ddds for M Drumm (Black Card), 34mins; Liam Murphy for C Henry, 50mins; Ryan Farren for S Lagan, 55mins.

Referee: Damian Harkin (Slaughtmanus)