Offaly will face Leinster neighbours Laois in their first ever Joe McDonagh Cup game as the fixture layout for the 2019 competition has been revealed.

Kevin Martin's side became the first team to be relegated from the Leinster championship under the new round robin structure following their defeat away to Dublin in Parnell Park in June. 

They host Eddie Brennan's Laois in the opener before following it up with an away clash against last year's runners-up Westmeath, now being led by former Limerick goalkeeper Joe Quaid. 

Unlike last year, no team is being asked to play three weekends in a row with the third round of matches split over two weekends. 

Hurling's secondary competition has been reduced from six to five teams for this year as Meath slip down to the Christy Ring having lost all their matches in 2018. 

The 2018 Christy Ring Cup winners Kildare missed out on promotion after shipping a heavy defeat against the Joe McDonagh's second bottom side Antrim back in June. 

The competition has been altered for 2019 with the fifth placed team automatically slipping into the Christy Ring with the winners of the third tier ascending to the second tier. 

Round 1
Offaly v Laois
Antrim v Kerry
Westmeath bye

Round 2
Laois v Antrim
Westmeath v Offaly
Kerry bye

Round 3 (a)
Westmeath v Kerry
Laois, Offaly and Antrim bye

Round 3 (b)
Offaly v Antrim
Laois, Westmeath and Kerry bye

Round 4
Antrim v Westmeath
Kerry v Laois
Offaly bye

Round 5
Laois v Westmeath
Kerry v Offaly
Antrim bye