Slaughtneil 2-12 Banagher 0-10

Slaughtneil are the Derry SHC champions for a sixth successive year after they defeated Banagher for a third final in a row in front of 2,542 spectators at Owenbeg.

The reigning champions were far from full strength and lost ace marksman Cormac O'Doherty to injury at half-time, but still had too much for a Banagher side that rarely threatened to upset the odds despite a spirited display.

A disjointed, a scrappy first half began with O'Doherty's long-range free being helped into his own net by Banagher Brian Og McGilligan on two minutes to give his side a two-point lead and that was as close as the underdogs ever got.

Tiernan McCloskey, who top scored with 0-7 from frees, had opened the scoring for Banagher inside the first minute but it would be a further 22 minutes before they scored again. 

However, a late rally ensured Banagher were still within touching distance at 1-06 to 0-05 at half-time but Slaughtneil's extra class told after the break. 

With O'Doherty injured, Brian Cassidy was introduced during the break and it was his goal, tapping home with 10 minutes left after Meehaul McGrath's shot had been saved by Daryl McDermott, that made the game safe.

From there, it was only a question of the margin of victory as Slaughtneil's gaze turns to defending their Ulster crown.

In the Intermediate final, Swatragh edged out Ballinascreen in an entertaining final while the Junior final between Na Magha and Eoghan Rua finished all square with a replay set for Wednesday, 10 October.

Scorers - Banagher: Tiernan McCloskey (0-7, 7f), Brian Og McGilligan (0-1), Daragh Cartin (0-1), Jonathan O'Dwyer (0-1)

Slaughtneil: Brian Cassidy (1-2, 1f), Cormac O'Doherty (1-2, 2f), Gerald Bradley( 0-1), Sean Cassidy (0-1), Se McGuigan (0-2), Shane McGuigan (0-1), Christoher McKagiue (0-1), Mark McGuigan (0-1), Brendan Rodgers (0-1)

Banagher: Daryl McDermot: Gabriel Farran, Ruairi McCloskey, Shane Murphy; Darragh McCloskey, Mark Lynch, Niall Farran; Brian Og McGilligan, Sean McCullagh; Jack Phelan, Ciaran Lynch, Darragh Cartin; Tiernan McCloskey, Jonathan O'Dwyer, Shane Farren.

Subs: Pauric McCloskey for Ciaran Lynch (42) 

Slaughtneil: Gareth O'Kane; Paul McNeil, Sean Cassidy, Paedar Kearney; Ruairi McCartney, Shane McGuigan, Conor McAllister; Gerald Bradley, Sean Cassidy; Christopher McKaigue, Meehaul McGrath, Mark McGuigan; Cormac O'Doherty, Se McGuigan, Liam Cassidy.

Subs: Brian Cassidy for O'Doherty (HT); Brendan Rodgers for L Cassidy (34); Cormac McKenna for S Cassidy (47) Eanna Cassidy for Gerald Bradley (blood sub 53 - reversed 57); Pronsias Burke for Se McGuigan (57); Eanna Cassidy for Shane McGuigan (57)

Referee: Paddy McEldowney (Ballinascreen)