The schedule for the 2019 Munster hurling championship has been revealed with reigning All-Ireland champions Limerick opening their campaign at home to Cork on the second weekend. 

The round robin phase will begin a week earlier next year to allow for a break week in the middle although it has yet to be determined when that is. Today's fixtures plan indicates it will take place on either the weekend 25/26 May (after two rounds of matches) or 1/2 June (after three rounds of matches). 

This tweak in the calendar has been introduced to prevent teams having to play four weeks in a row, a schedule which confronted both Tipperary and Waterford in 2018. 

The Munster campaign will begin on the week ending the 12 May, with Cork hosting Tipperary in Páirc Ui Chaoimh while Waterford play a home fixture against Clare. As in 2018, the Déise will have to find an alternate venue for the home matches. 

Waterford GAA were this month granted permission to redevelop Walsh Park, after which it will have a capacity of just over 18,000 and be ready in time for the 2020 championship. 

The 2019 Munster round robin concludes on the week ending the 16th June with Cork travelling to Cusack Park to face Clare and Tipperary hosting Limerick in Semple Stadium. 

Round 1 – weekend 12th May
Cork v Tipperary
Waterford v Clare

Round 2 – weekend 19th May
Limerick v Cork
Tipperary v Waterford

Round 3 – weekend 26th May or weekend 2nd June
Waterford v Limerick
Clare v Tipperary

Round 4 – weekend 9th June
Limerick v Clare
Cork v Waterford

Round 5 – weekend 16th June
Clare v Cork
Tipperary v Limerick