Pauric Fanning has been confirmed as the new manager of the Waterford hurlers. 

Fanning has been a selector with Davy Fitzgerald at Wexford for the last two years but steps up to the Déise hot seat. He had the same role under Fitzgerald when he was in charge of Waterford between 2008 and 2011. 

Former Waterford players Pa Kearney and James Murray will form part of the Mount Sion man's back-room team.

Derek McGrath's five-year reign ended in June when he stepped away from the position.

He led the county to the 2017 All-Ireland final, where they lost to Galway, but this year they failed to make it out of the hugely competitive Munster SHC round-robin group.

Waterford have also announced that Benji Whelan will take charge of the footballers.

In July, Tom McGlinchey departed after four years in charge.

McGlinchey led Waterford to a McGrath Cup win in 2015 and this year the county secured a first Championship win since 2011, beating Wexford.