The Munster Hurling Championship will begin a week earlier next year to allow a break weekend for all counties midway through the round-robin series.

The first round of games will begin on week ending 12 May, one week earlier than 2018, and will be run over six weeks.

The final round of games will take place on week ending 16 June.

The draws for this year’s provincial championships, in hurling and football, will take place on 11 October on RTÉ2.  

Meanwhile a new format for the Munster Minor Football Championship has been confirmed on a one-year trial basis.

Phase 1 will see a round-robin format involving Clare, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford with each county getting three games.

The top two teams will then play the Phase 1 final. The winner of the Phase 1 Final will join Cork and Kerry in a Phase 2 round-robin format, with the top two teams qualifying for the Munster final.

The purpose of the new format is to ensure that the developing counties of Clare, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford get at least three games against teams of a similar standard.

The Phase 1 final winner will have played four games before progressing to meet Cork and Kerry.