The Sunday Game panellists have awarded All-Ireland champions Dublin eight spots on their football team of the year, with Monaghan and Tyrone each getting two places in their top XV.

One player each from Donegal, Galway and Kerry completes the lineup.

The omission of Rory Beggan, Niall Scully and Neil Flynn may generate some debate.

Dublin's Ciarán Kilkenny was named Player of the Year by the panel.

And as for ther man of the match for this year's All-Ireland final, well that went to Jack McCaffrey, and just as he was about to receive the award......



Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

A few early wobbles on final day, but it didn't take long for Cluxton to regain his composure. He will be 37 in a  fortnight but you can be sure he'll be around for the 'drive for five'.


Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

The Na Fianna clubman hardly put a foot wrong throughtout the summer. He often plays on the edge but is there a better tackler in the game at the moment?

Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

The Coalisland native was one of Tyrone's better performers in the All-Ireland final. A real warrior for the Red Hand cause and is most adept at getting in that block to thwart opposition attacks.

Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal)

Donegal regained the Ulster crown and instrumental in that success was the Killybegs player. Gallagher may say that his first instinct is to defend, but his darting runs out of defence more often than not reap dividends.  


Karl O'Connell (Monaghan)

A late convert to Gaelic football from athletics, O'Connell had another stellar year in the Farney jersey. Call him 'Mr Dependable"  but this wing-back will also get you vital scores when needed.

James McCarthy (Dublin)

A sixth All-Ireland medal for the Ballymun Kickhams star in a campaign where he again put in the hard yards.

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

You take one look at McCaffrey and you see an athlete who is clearly enjoying life in the blue jersey. He was the one Dublin player  who took the fight to Tyrone during that crucial first-half period on All-Ireland final day.


Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Another superb season for Fenton in the Dublin engine room. He remains a physically imposing opponent for anybody who dares to curb his influence - and he still hasn't lost a championship match.

Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)  

Maybe not at this best in the final and against the Dubs in Omagh, but Cavanagh still played in large part in getting Tyrone to a first All-Ireland final appearance in ten years.  


Shane Walsh (Galway)

Four years on from making his mark in the maroon jersey, Walsh's ability to execute some sublime scores marked him out as Galway made more strides in 2018.

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

The Castleknock native excelled in 2018 as he notched up the biggest tally from play of any player in the championship. He is the focal point of the Dublin attack and you sense we haven't seen the best of him yet.

Brian Howard (Dublin) 

Howard really found his wings this year and and delivered another striking display, decorated by a lovely second-half point, in the All-Ireland final.


Paul Mannion (Dublin) 

Fantastic season for the Kilmacud Crokes star who lately seems to have taken to making key interventions at both ends of the field.  

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

He remains one of the best forwards in the country, as evidenced as the Farney edged out Tyrone in Ulster and then drew with Kerry in the Super 8s.  

David Clifford (Kerry)

An outstanding minor talent, Clifford also looks set to make his mark at senior level. The 19-year-old saved Kerry's bacon against Monaghan - the standout performer in a mixed summer for the Kingdom.