The row in the Mayo Ladies football camp has taken another turn as the Executive Board released a statement giving the players and management their full support.

Earlier this week the Mayo squad were rocked by the news that at least ten players mostly from the Carnacon club had left the set-up, citing player welfare issues as their reason for quitting just days before their championship opener against Cavan.

The group includes captain Sarah Tierney along with vice-captain Fiona McHale and Cora Satunton.

The statement from Mayo LGFA also said that that the senior management team has adhered to all protocols and guidelines set out at the beginning of their tenure and they vowed to continue to work with all parties to find an amicable resolution.

"The Executive Board of Mayo LGFA is acutely aware of the critical importance of player welfare. Player wellbeing is fundamental to all coaching and management structures," the statement said.

"A comprehensive programme is in place to ensure that all Mayo players can train and perform in a safe and supportive environment and all necessary resources have been made available to enable the Mayo Senior Ladies compete with the very best in the country."

They went on to call on Mayo fans to come out and support the team in Saturday's TG4 All-Ireland Qualifier against Cavan and for the remainder of the season.

Meanwhile, Mayo named their team for Saturday's clash with Cavan. Manager Peter Leahy made five changes to the team that lost to Galway in the Connacht Final.

Aileen Gilroy is the team captain but she is named on the bench after missing the Connacht final due to injury so Niamh Kelly will captain the side for the game.

Nicola O'Malley, Noirin Moran, Dayna Finn and Sarah Mulvihill replace Sarah Tierney, Doireann Hughes, Fiona McHale and Cora Staunton while Sorcha Murphy starts in goals instead of Aisling Tarpey.

The sides meet in Clones at 2.15pm.

Mayo: S Murphy; E Lowther, N O'Malley, D Caldwell; R Kearns, C McManamon, K O'Sullivan; N Moran, D Finn; S Mulvihill, F Doherty, S Cafferky, N Kelly, S Rowe, G Kelly.