Meath 4-13 Westmeath 1-13

Meath lifted the O’Byrne Cup with victory over fierce rivals Westmeath, in what was an open game of football played out in TEG Cusack Park.

The Royals were the better team throughout and lifted the trophy despite finishing the game with 13 men.

It was tit for tat in the opening stages, with Meath getting the game's opening goal, Donal Keoghan burying the net from close range with a great finish.

The excellent Donal Lenihan, who registered 2-8, got another goal shortly after, when he turned Ronan Wallace before making no mistake with the finish.

Meath were dealt a major blow shortly after, when influential midfielder Paddy Kennelly was sent off for a second yellow card after an altercation with Kieran Martin.

Callum McCormack gave Westmeath a crucial lifeline with a goal just before the interval, after his initial effort was saved.

Donal Lenihan responded with two points for Meath, as the Royal County held a 2-7 to 1-7 lead at half-time.

Lenihan got his second goal shortly after and Meath really were in cruise control at that stage.

They pushed on from this point but were dealt a major blow with ten minutes left, when Eamon Wallace was dismissed on a straight red card after an incident with Westmeath centre-back Jamie Gonoud.

Substitute Daniel O’Neill put the icing on the cake in injury time when he palmed to the back of the net, with 13-man Meath full value for their nine-point victory.

Westmeath: Stephen Gallagher; Ronan Wallace, Sam Duncan, Boidu Sayeh; Conor Slevin, Jamie Gonoud, James Dolan; Alan Stone, Daragh Daly; Kieran Martin (0-3), Callum Mc Cormack (1-0), John Egan; Luke Loughlin (0-2), Finbar Coyne, John Connellan (0-6, 0-5f).

Subs: Noel Mulligan for Wallace (25), Ger Egan (0-2) for Slevin (HT) Gary McCallon for Sayeh (44), Ronan O’Toole for Coyne (45), Gareth Carr for Stone (47), Anthony McGivney for Egan (56), Adam Loughlin for Daly (69) John Rock for Mulligan (69), Nigel Scally for Martin (72), Joe Moran for McCormack (72).

Meath: Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Glynn; James McEntee, Donal Keogan (1-0), Shane McEntee; Bryan Menton, Paddy Kennelly (0-1); Bryan McMahon, Ben Brennan (0-1), Mickey Burke; Cillian O'Sullivan (0-2), Graham Reilly, Donal Lenihan (2-8, 0-2f, 0-1 "45").

Subs: Adam Flanagan for Menton (20 B/S), Bryan Menton for Flanagan (26, B/S reversal), Joey Wallace for Reilly (47), Eamon Wallace for Brennan (49), Shane Glynn for Dempsey (49), Daniel O’Neill (1-0) for Burke (58), Thomas O’Reilly (0-1) for McMahon (58), Adam Flanagan for Menton (69), Cian O’Brien for McEntee (69), Sean Curran for Seamus Lavin (72).

Referee: Fergal Smyth (Offaly).