Ger Aylward is out of Kilkenny's Allianz Hurling League Division 1 final with a hamstring problem.

He suffered the injury towards the end of last weekend's defeat of Wexford and has not recovered in time for Sunday's showdown at Nowlan Park.

It opens the door for Alan Murphy, who has been named at corner-forward by Brian Cody in the only change to the 15.

Tipperary meanwhile have also made just the one change to their side.

Brendan Maher returns to his midfield berth with Thomas Hamill having to settle for a place on the bench this time out.

Maher, who captained Tipperary to All-Ireland glory in 2016, came on off the bench for Hamill last week and starts in midfield alongside Seamus Kennedy.

Ronan Maher shifts to a wing back role, having started in the centre for last weekend's extra-time victory against Limerick.

Kilkenny (Allianz HL final v Tipperary): Eoin Murphy; Joey Holden, Padraig Walsh, Paddy Deegan; Conor Delaney, Cillian Buckley, Enda Morrissey; Richie Leahy, James Maher; Martin Keoghan, TJ Reid, John Donnelly; Bill Sheehan, Walter Walsh, Alan Murphy.

Subs: Darren Brennan, Conor O'Shea, Robert Lennon, Conor Browne, Lester Ryan, Conor Fogarty, Liam Blanchfield, Pat Lyng, Luke Scanlon, Conor Martin, Richie Reid.

Tipperary: Daragh Mooney; Alan Flynn, James Barry, Michael Cahill; Barry Heffernan, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher; Brendan Maher, Seamus Kennedy; Sean Curran, Billy McCarthy, John McGrath; Michael Breen, Jason Forde, Willie Connors.

Subs: Brian Hogan, Cathal Barrett, Ger Browne, Cian Darcy, Paudie Feehan, Tomas Hamill, Donagh Maher, Paul Maher, Sean O'Brien, John O'Dwyer, Mark Russell.