The Allianz Football League resumed after a week's break and Louth are still in search of their first win in Division 2 as Roscommon got their promotion hopes back on track with a 12-point victory at the Gaelic Grounds in Drogheda.

Inconsistency has blighted the reigning Connacht champions' league campaign so far with a draw, win and a loss in their first three games, while Louth now possess a worrying, consistent trend of four losses out of four. 

An opening blitz right from the throw-in set the travelling side up for victory as they started the game in blistering fashion. Conor Daly and a brace each from their captain Conor Devaney and dynamic midfielder Enda Smith had them 5-0 up after 7 minutes.

Roscommon manager Kevin McStay did have to reshuffle his deck, losing their cornerback Niall McInerney and centre-back Seán Mullooly during the week, but the deflections had little effect on the travelling Rossies as the replacements coped with ease at what Louth threw at them.  

Short on confidence, it took Louth 15 minutes to register a score and through two trusty Ryan Burns dead balls they did so.

Diarmuid Murtagh showed his class to finish out the half with three superbly taken scores to give Roscommon a 10-6 lead at the interval. Remarkably with all the Connacht’s sides points coming from play.

Pete McGrath emptied the bench and his liveliest substitute Gerard McSorley got three his first right after half time gave the wee county a brief sense of hope.

Diarmuid Murtagh killed that hope and the game as a contest with a decisive finish on the 48th minute, but it was the impact of Roscommon replacement Donie Smith shooting seven second-half points that eased the travelling side over the line.

Roscommon now can look up, sealing not only their own Division 2 fate, but possibly Louth’s exit also. 

Louth: Craig Lynch; Darren Marks, Emmet Carolan, James Craven; Derek Maguire (0-01), Bevan Duffy (0-01), Anthony Williams (0-01); Tommy Durnin (0-01), Andy McDonnell (0-01); Eoghan Lafferty, Conor Grimes, Ronan Holcroft (0-01); William Woods, Declan Byrne, Ryan Burns (0-03, 0-03f).

Subs: Ross Nally for W Woods BC (HT), James Stewart for T Durnin (HT) Gerard McSorley (0-03) for R Holcroft (HT), Fergal Donohoe for A Williams BC (57) Eimhin Keenan for D Maguire (63), 

Roscommon: James Featherston; Seanie McDermott, Peter Domican, David Murray; Ronan Daly, Niall Daly (0-01), Ross Timothy; Enda Smith (0-02), Conor Daly (0-02); Ciaráin Murtagh (0-02, 0-02f), Niall Kilroy, Conor Devaney (0-03); Diarmuid Murtagh (0-03), Ciaran Lennon (0-01), Cathal Cregg.

Subs: John McManus for R Timothy (12), Donie Smith (0-07, 0-03f) for C Cregg (40), Cathal Compton for D Murray (53) Fintan Cregg for C Murtagh (63), Ian Kilbride for E Smith (67), Shane Killoran for D Murtagh (69). 

Referee: Liam Devenney (Mayo)