Former Dublin senior hurling captain Johnny McCaffrey and 2013 All Star Peter Kelly have both been dropped from next year’s Dublin hurling panel.

Manager Ger Cunningham named a 38 man panel ahead of the county’s pre-season preparations and McCaffrey and Kelly were those among players to be cut.

Daire Plunkett, Niall Corcoran, Glenn Whelan and Paul Ryan have also been left out of the squad, along with Shane Durkin who opted out.

Cunningham has promoted several members of Dublin’s 2016 Leinster winning U21 team.

Jonathan Tracey, Jake Malone and Eoghan Conroy all make the jump from the U21s to the seniors, while Donal Burke, Cian O’Sullivan and Paddy Smyth have been called up from the Dublin minors.

Speaking to, Cunningham explained his selection and said: “It is largely a young squad but, along with our aims of continuing to try and make Dublin Hurling successful in the short term, one of our key aims is building a solid foundation for the future.

“With this young squad, and with Dublin winning Leinster Minor and U21 titles this year, we feel we can develop and grow the potential within Dublin hurling.

Cunningham thanks those outgoing players for their service to Dublin GAA, saying: “To the players not named on the provisional panel we would like to thank them for their massive commitment to Dublin Hurling. Their service was outstanding."

2017 Dublin hurling panel: Shane Barrett (Na Fianna), Chris Bennett (Faughs), Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh) Donal Burke (Na Fianna), Tom Connolly (St Vincent’s), Eoghan Conroy (St Maurs), Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields), Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra), Oisin Gough (Cuala), James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St Enda’s) Canice Maher (St Jude’s), Jake Malone (Cuala), Sean Moran (Cuala), Rian McBride, (St Vincent’s), Cian Mac Gabhann, (Kilmacud Crokes), Fiontan McGibb (Setanta) Sean McGrath (Kilmacud Crokes), Niall McMorrow  (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala), David O’Callaghan (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Darragh O’Connell (Cuala), Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall), Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes) Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes), Fionn O’Riain-Broin (St Jude’s), Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s), Alex Quinn (Crumlin), Ben Quinn (Crumlin), Liam Rushe (St Pat's), Mark Schutte (Cuala), Paul Schutte (Cuala), Paddy Smyth (Clontarf), David Treacy (Cuala), Jonathan Treacy (Na Fianna), Ronan Walsh (Kilmacud Crokes), Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)