There were no surprises as Tipperary dominated the 2016 GAA/GPA Opel All Star hurling team with seven representatives.

The Premier County won the All-Ireland with a resounding win over their great rivals Kilkenny in the final and after a great season they have been honoured by making up nearly half of the team of the year.

The Cats ended up with four while there were two All Stars apiece for Galway and Waterford as the side followed expected lines.

Kilkenny’s reliable goalkeeper Eoin Murphy was the first name on the team-sheet, which was unveiled at a gala ceremony at the Convention Centre Dublin on Friday night broadcast live on RTÉ Television.

In front him are Tipp duo Cathal Barrett and James Barry with Galway’s Daithi Burke in the left corner.

At right half-back there’s Padraig Walsh from Kilkenny and the other two jerseys along the line are filled by the Maher brothers from Tipperary, Ronan and Padraic, who won their first and second All-Ireland senior medals respectively this year.

In the middle of the park Waterford’s James Barron and Tribesman David Burke form the centre partnership.

After an outstanding season, the Déise’s Austin Gleeson is picked at centre-froward and either side him are Kilkenny’s Walter Walsh, whose late goal against Waterford sent their epic All-Ireland semi-final to a replay, and Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher.

Austin Gleeson has earned his first All Star

Former Hurler of the Year winner Richie Hogan from Kilkenny, Tipp’s Seamus Callanan and John McGrath make up the full-forward line.

In all there are nine first-timers in this All Star team - Murphy, Barrett, Barry, Padraig Walsh, Ronan Maher, Barron, Walter Walsh, Gleeson and McGrath.

Walter Walsh gets his first All Star four years after bursting onto the scene as a virtual unknown, making his debut and being named the man of the match in the replayed All-Ireland final win over Galway in 2012.

Padraig Walsh and John McGrath are both the second All Stars in their family, with Padraig joining his big brother Tommy while McGrath now has one statue to go alongside those claimed by his older brother Noel.

2016 GAA/GPA Opel All Star hurling team

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

3. James Barry (Tipperary)

4. Daithi Burke (Galway)

5. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

11: Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

12. Patrick 'Bonner' Maher (Tipperary)

13. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

15. John McGrath (Tipperary)