Loup 0-06 Slaughtneil 2-11

Slaughtneil strolled to a third success Derry senior football title in a one sided final against Loup before 4,374 spectators at Celtic Park on Sunday.

The reigning champions were never in any trouble after Thomas Mallon's hesitation allowed Shane McGuigan in for an early Slaughtneil goal with Loup's miserable afternoon compounded by a late red card for Aidan McAlynn for kicking out at Slaughtneil substitute Padrig Kelly who was black carded for his part in the incident.

Loup took the breeze first half but any pre-match planning was undone by that easily avoidable goal which keeper Mallon won't want to see again.

There looked no danger when Christopher Bradley's 11th minute ball was played in but the Derry No 1 hesitated, waiting on a bounce that never came and as he waited McGuigan pounced, jumping above the keeper to punch into an unguarded net for a 1-02 to 0-01 lead.

It was a body blow and unsettled Loup who went on to hit some poor wides as they sought to redress the balance. Seven wides, three from straight forward frees summed up a frustrating half for St Patrick's.

Slaughtneil in contrast looked assured in everything they did with midfielder Padraig Cassidy impressing along side Patsy Bradley. 

The champions experience and ability to run the ball back at Loup allowed them to manage the opening half with a degree of comfort, Paul Bradley helping himself to 0-4 (3f) as the Emmet's built up an ominous 1-06 to 0-03 half-time lead.  

The second half saw plenty of effort from Loup but they made little inroads into the Slaughtneil lead. St. Patrick's had plenty of possession but no end product and when Padraig Cassidy took Christopher Bradley's 43rd minute pass to set up Se McGuigan for an easy second goal, it was game over.

Loup pulled a couple of points back but their only score from play remained their opening first half point from Declan McVey in the fourth minute of the match.

With Celtic Park emptying and the result a mere formality  late score from Patsy Bradley and Karl McKaigue put the seal on a decidedly one-sided Slauyghtneil victory. 

Loup: Thomas Mallon; Colm McVey, Dominic McVey, Conal McGinley; Patrick Coney, Thomas McVey, Jason Rocks; Terence O'Brien (0-1, 1f), Aidan McAlynn; Anthony O'Neill (0-3, 3f), Paul McVey, Brian Doyle; Ciaran Devlin, Paul Young, Declan McVey (0-1).

Subs: Gavin Mallon for B Doyle, H/T; Caolan Devlin for A O'Neill, 52mins;Conor McVey for P Young, 54mins; Gary Doyle for P McVey, 54mins;

Slaughtneil: Anton McMullan; Francis McEldowney, Brendan Rogers, Karl McKaigue (0-1); Paul McNeill, Chrissy McKaigue (0-1), Keelan Feeney; Patsy Bradley; Padrig Cassidy; Shane McGuigan (1-1, 1f), Paul Bradley (0-6, 5f), Meehaul McGrath; Christopher Bradley (0-1, 1 forty-five), Se McGuigan (1-0), Cormac O'Doherty.

Subs: Padrig Kelly for C O'Doherty, 54mins; Padraig McGuigan for P Bradley, 54mins; Barry McGuigan for K Feeney, 57mins; Ronan Bradley for C Bradley, 57mins; Paedar Kearney for P Kelly (black Card), 57mins. 

Black Cards, Padrig Kelly 57mins; Meehaul McGrath 59mins;

Referee: Benny Quinn (Ballinascreen)