All-Ireland champions Waterford provide eight players on the U21 Bord Gáis Energy hurling team of the year. 

Austin Gleeson, Patrick Curran and Stephen Bennett are the player of the year nominees, with the winner to be named on Saturday night night at a function in Dublin's Mansion House

The eight Waterford representatives on this year's are joined on the team by two players each from Dublin and Galway while there is one player each from Tipperary, Limerick and Westmeath.  

Westmeath’s Niall Mitchell is the first player from the county to pick up an award since the scheme came into being in 2013.

All seven defensive positions including the goalkeeping berth go to Waterford and Dublin.  From midfield up five counties are represented, including three more Déise men.

Galway’s Brian Molloy is the sole survivor from the 2015 edition of the team.  Last year he was named at corner forward but on this selection he switches out to centre forward.

The team was picked by Bord Gáis Energy Sports Ambassador Ger Cunningham, TG4’s Michéal Ó Domhnaill, Waterford great Ken McGrath and Galway sharpshooter Joe Canning.

2016 Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year    
1 Jordan Henley (Waterford)
2 Conor Gleeson (Waterford)
3 Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)
4 Darragh Lyons (Waterford)
5 Micheál Harney (Waterford)
6 Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
7 Shane Barrett (Dublin)
8 Dan Nevin (Galway)
9 Ronan Lynch (Limerick)
10 Shane Bennett (Waterford)
11 Brian Molloy (Galway)
12 Andrew Coffey (Tipperary)
13 Patrick Curran (Waterford)
14 Stephen Bennett (Waterford)
15 Niall Mitchell (Westmeath)
Bord Gáis Energy U-21 Player of the Year Nominees
Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
Patrick Curran (Waterford)
Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

We need your consent to load this SoundCloud contentWe use SoundCloud to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences