John O’Dwyer returns to the Tipperary starting team for Sunday’s All-Ireland final showdown with Kilkenny, while Cats boss Brian Cody has sprung a major surprise.

Cody has picked Kevin Kelly at corner-forward, handing the Ballyragget man his first Championship start in the black and amber jersey.

Kelly joined the Cats’ panel last year and has made appearances as a substitute in the past, though this will be his first start - and it comes on the biggest stage.

Cody has done this before and famously Walter Walsh won the man of the match award following his debut in the 2012 All-Ireland final replay defeat of Galway. Richie Hogan made his first start in the '09 final win over Tipp.

There is one other change in the Kilkenny team to face Tipp, with Kieran Joyce coming into the team in place of the injured Michael Fennelly Fennelly damaged ankle ligaments in the semi-final win over Waterford.

Premier County boss Michael Ryan has ended weeks of speculation by naming ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer in the number 13 jersey for the clash with the Cats.

He sat out the semi-final win over Galway having returned from the one-game suspension he earned following the red card he picked up in the Munster semi-final win over Limerick.

O’Dwyer was banned for the provincial decider with victory over Waterford and he couldn’t force his way back into the team for their first trip of the campaign to Croke Park.

But he has done enough to earn a recall and this is the only change in the Tipp side, with Niall O’Meara dropping to the bench.

Tipperary: Darren Gleeson; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Michael Cahill; Seamus Kennedy, Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher; Brendan Maher, Michael Breen; Dan McCormack, Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath; John O’Dwyer, Seamus Callanan, John McGrath.

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Joey Holden, Shane Prendergast; Padraig Walsh, Kieran Joyce, Cillian Buckley; TJ Reid, Conor Fogarty; Walter Walsh, Richie Hogan, Eoin Larkin; Kevin Kelly, Colin Fennelly, Liam Blanchfield
Subs: Richie Reid, Jackie Tyrrell, Robert Lennon, Diarmuid Cody, Cono O’Shea, Lester Ryan, Jonjo Farrell, John Power, Mark Bergin, Conor Martin, Michael Malone.

Watch live coverage of Kilkenny v Tipperary on RTÉ One and RTÉ Player from 1405 and follow our live blog on Listen live on RTÉ Radio 1 from 1300 to include coverage of the Tipperary v Limerick minor final and watch highlights of all the weekend's GAA action on The Sunday Game from 2130 on RTÉ Two.