Offaly referee Brian Gavin will take charge of the All-Ireland SHC final between Tipperary and Kilkenny. 

The Clara man has received the nod to officiate his fourth All-Ireland decider on 4 September at Croke Park. 

Gavin took charge of the 2011 final between the two counties - which the Cats won 2-17 to 1-16 - and the 2014 replay, again won by Brian Cody's men, this time on a 2-17 to 2-14 scoreline.

He also reffed to 2013 showdown between Clare and Cork, which ended in a pulsating 3-16 to 0-25 draw.

Westmeath’s Barry Kelly will be the standby referee with Colm Lyons (Cork) the other linesman andJohn Keane (Galway) the sideline official.

The umpires on the day will be Michael Gavin, David Gavin, William Flynn (all Clara) and PJ Lawlor (Ferbane/Belmont).

Michael Ryan’s Premier side booked their place in the showpiece final with a 2-19 to 2-18 defeat of Galway, while Kilkenny made their third final in a row thanks to a two-point replay win over Waterford at Semple Stadium.