The Ladies Gaelic Football Association have revealed details of a new partnership with Lidl that will see the supermarket brand inject €1.5m into the game in the next year.

Lidl will pump over €1.5m into Ladies Gaelic Football in the first 12 months of a three-year deal and will be title sponsor of the National Football Leagues, which get underway on 31 January, as well as the post primary schools competitions, the Gaelic4Mothers & Others programme.

Last week the LGFA revealed that they were behind the controversial 'Ladyball' internet campaign, which claimed to be in support of the launch of a new pink ball aimed at women that was "specifically designed for a lady's game".

It drew criticism for the way in which it appeared to make light of women in sport, but the campaign was said to be part of the sponsorship deal between the LGFA and Lidl and was intended to "raise awareness of the difficulties female sports persons have in getting the same recognition as their male counterparts", according to a LFGA statement.

Speaking at the official announcement of the partnership between the LGFA and Lidl, LGFA president Marie Hickey said: "This is a great day for the Ladies Gaelic Football Association. We have shown continuous growth year on year and this is what has attracted such a prestigious sponsor as Lidl.

"They have immediately shown their commitment to our sport through their impressive and eye-catching advertising campaign and their financial investment in the sport will have a huge effect on the game throughout the country.

"With a partner like Lidl we know that we can continue to develop the sport and continue with the impressive growth that the game has experienced over the past decade.  This will be an exciting three years for all associated with Ladies Gaelic Football."

Lidl Ladies National Football League fixtures

[All matches to be played on Sunday 31 January unless otherwise stated]:

Division 1: Dublin v Kerry; Cork v Mayo; Tyrone v Galway; Monaghan v Armagh

Division 2: Westmeath v Donegal; Meath v Sligo; Cavan v Kildare; Laois v Clare

Division 3: Waterford v Tipperary; Fermanagh v Leitrim; Roscommon v Offaly; Down v Wexford

Division 4: Limerick v Carlow; Derry v Louth; Wicklow v Antrim; Longford bye