Stephen Rochford has been ratified as the new manager of the Mayo football team for a three-year term, which will be reviewed annually.

He will replace Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly after the duo relinquished their shared role after the county's players delivered a vote of no confidence. 

Rochford, who was the only man nominated for the role, will be aided by selectors Donie Buckley, Sean Carey and Tony McEntee.

Rochford guided Galway club side Corofin to a national club title earlier this year.

Former Armagh All-Ireland winner McEntee boasts managerial experience with both Crossmaglen in the Orchard County and Dublin side St Brigid’s.

Mayo’s fist game with Rochford in charge will come in the FBD League on 3 January when they welcome NUI Galway to Castlebar.