Naomh Conaill 0-11 St Eunan's 0-10 

By Peter Campbell at Ballybofey

Fourteen-man Naomh Conaill of Glenties upset the odds with a spirited display to take the Donegal SFC title in MacCumhaill Park, Ballybofey.

Behind by a point at the break, 0-7 to 0-6, they were reduced to 14 men on 40 minutes when young 18-year-old Eoghan McGettigan was just on the field seconds when a melee broke out and McGettigan was red carded.

At that stage St. Eunan's had widened the gap to 0-8 to 0-6 with a Conall Dunne free, but from there to the end Naomh Conaill got a firm grip thanks to a wonderful display from man-of-the-match and captain, Leo McLoone.

Indeed, McLoone was denied what looked a great goal minutes later as he broke through to fire a piledriver to the net but he was pulled back as a free had been awarded.

St. Eunan's got back on level terms at 0-9 each thanks to Caolan Ward, but two points in quick succession from Johnny McLoone and corner back Aaron Thompson was enough for them to secure the win.

It was a special day for the four Thompson brothers, who became the third set of four brothers to win a Donegal senior championship medals.

Naomh Conaill: S McGrath; Aaron Thompson (0-01), AJ Gallagher, K McGettigan; M Boyle, Anthony Thompson, E Waide (0-01); L McLoone (0-01,f), C Thompson (0-01); E Doherty, D Molloy (0-03,2f), D Gallagher; J O'Malley (0-01), B McDyer (0-02), L Thompson.

Subs: J McLoone (0-01) for O'Malley, E McGettigan for D Gallagher, both 38; S Corcoran for E Doherty 47; E O'Donnell for McDyer 51; J Bonner for L Thompson 59.

St. Eunan's: J P Clarke; C Parke, S Hensey, P Devine; C Ward (0-01), E Doherty, Conor Morrison; K Rafferty (0-01), R Kavanagh; C Gibbons, C Dunne (0-03,2f), S McVeigh; R Carr (0-03,2f), J Haran, L McMonagle (0-02).

Subs: M McGowan for Conor Morrison 43; Cillian Morrison for Gibbons 50; C Gibbons for Cillian Morrison 53; N O'Donnell for Haran 57.

Referee: A Mullin (Killybegs)