All-Ireland football champions Dublin will begin their title defence with a Leinster SFC quarter-final against Laois or Wicklow, while hurling kingpins Kilkenny await the winners of Dublin v Wexford after the 2016 GAA Championship draw was made tonight.

Stand-out ties from the early rounds of fixtures in each province include the clash of neighbours Tyrone and Derry in the Ulster SFC and the meeting of Cork and Tipperary in the Munster SHC.

This year's Ulster SFC finalists Donegal and Monaghan are on the same side of the draw in the province, while in the Munster SFC Cork and Kerry weren't seeded but have still ended up in separate semi-final pairings.

In the Connacht SFC, reigning champions Mayo will meet Galway if they can get past London.


Munster SFC

In the Munster football championship, Waterford face Tipperary in the first quarter-final, with Clare and Limerick meeting in the other. The winners of Clare/Limerick will play Munster champions Kerry, and Waterford or Tipperary will host Cork.

Connacht SFC

Roscommon will travel to New York for the preliminary round in Connacht. The winner of that tie will take on Leitrim in the quarter-finals. The winner of Roscommon/New York/Leitrim play Sligo in the last four.

Provincial champions Mayo host London in the quarter-final with Galway awaiting the victor in the semi-final.

Ulster SFC

In Ulster, Fermanagh will play Antrim in the preliminary round with the winners advancing to a quarter-final against Donegal. Fermanagh/Antrim/Donegal will play holders Monaghan or Down in the semi-final.

On the other side of the draw, Derry face neighbours Tyrone for the right to meet Cavan or Armagh in the last four.

Leinster SFC

Laois meet Wicklow in the first round for the dubious pleasure of meeting Leinster and All-Ireland champions Dublin in a quarter-final.

On the same side of the draw, Louth play Carlow with Meath awaiting the winners in the quarters. The semi-final is Laois/Wicklow/Dublin v Louth/Carlow/Meath.

On the other side of the draw, Longford take on Offaly for a place against neighbours Westmeath in the quarter-final. 

One of those three will face Wexford or Kildare in the last four.


Leinster SHC

Wexford and Dublin will meet for the right to face provincial and All-Ireland champions Kilkenny in the semi-finals.

The winners of the Qualifier Group of Offaly, Westmeath, Carlow and Kerry are up against Galway, while the Qualifier Group runners-up play Laois.

Munster SHC

In Munster, Waterford take on Clare in the semi-finals, while Limerick will meet the winners of the quarter-final pairing of Cork and reigning champions Tipperary in the other semi-final.