London 0-10 Roscommon 1-14

Roscommon advanced to the Connacht Senior Football Championship semi-final following a win over a gritty London at Ruislip.

Enda Smith impressed in the first half contributing four points for Roscommon, who led 0-11 to 0-05 at the break.

Three minutes after the restart Ciaran Murtagh clipped a splendid goal for the visitors.

The Exiles, prompted by Lorcan Mulvey, were spirited until the end, but Roscommon held on and will now face Sligo in the semi-final.

With the hard working Smith influential Roscommon enjoyed a productive start accumulating a 0-05 to 0-02 lead by the 13th minute.

Keen to make an impact early on, Roscommon started brightly as Donie Shine nailed a free before Cathal Shine landed a delightful effort from play.

Smith added a third point before London rallied as Adrian Moyles and Roscommon native Alan O'Hara scored fine points.

London, though, weren't clinical enough converting and at the opposite end Roscommon's forwards were that little bit slicker.

The Murtaghs, Diarmuid and Ciaran, were effective for the Rossies but London continued to battle with Lorcan Mulvey providing glimpses of class.

London's cause was scarcely aided by the 22nd-minute black carding of Cathal Og Greene, who had been a key figure for the Exiles.

Donie Shine kicked a free on the stroke of half-time as Roscommon departed at the break armed with a 0-11 to 0-05 lead.

Then Ciaran Murtagh bagged a delightful goal for Roscommon, but while Mulvey scored five second-half points for London the Exiles weren't clinical enough to really threaten the favourites late on.

Roscommon: D O’Malley; S McDermott, N Carty, N Collins; D Ward, N Daly, C Cafferkey; I Kilbride (0-01), C Shine (0-02); E Smith (0-04), D Shine (0-02, 2fs), C Murtagh (1-02); D Murtagh (0-02, 1f), S Kilbride, C Cregg.

Subs: R Stack for Ward (40 mins), C Connolly for S Kilbride (48 mins), U Harney (0-01) for E Smith (48 mins), D Smith for D Murtagh (52 mins), T Featherston for Carty (55 mins), R Daly for C Murtagh (60 mins)

London: D Traynor; B Collins, P Butler, D McGreevy; D McCarthy, C Carty, S Curran; M Gottsche, M Carroll; S Conroy, C Og Greene, J Moran; A O’Hara (0-01), L Mulvey (0-08, 5fs), A Moyles (0-01, f).

Subs: P O’Shea for Greene (22 mins, black card), P McGoldrick for Moyles (44 mins), M Walsh for Moran (46 mins), A Carr for Carroll (54 mins), S Devine for McCarthy (55 mins), S Buckley for Conroy (69 mins).

Referee: E Kinsella (Laois).