It was a historic day for Ballymun Kickhams and Kilcormac-Killoughey in the Leinster club championship as they tasted glory for the first time.

Ballymun were always in control against Portlaoise in the football decider in Mullingar - despite winning on a 0-11 to 0-08 scoreline in Mullingar.

An early goal from Dan Currams set Kilcormac-Killoughey on their way to a 1-12 to 0-11 victory over favourites Oulart-The Ballagh at Nowlan Park. 

It took Ballymun 14 minutes to get their first score through a Dean Rock free, but the Laois champions had only point to show at that stage.

The winners then took control with Rock hitting over some fine points and they led 0-06 to 0-02 at the interval

That lead was extended to six (0-09 0-03) 10 minutes into the second period. Portloaise, with points from Brian McCormack, Paul Cahillane and Brian Fitzgerald got a foothold but could not translate the advantage into further scores.

Rock and Jason Whelan added further points for the Dublin champions to give them a cushion they never relinquished, despite a couple of late points from the losers.

Once Dan Currams goaled in the first minute for Kilcormac-Killoughey they never looked back against Oulart-The Ballagh, who are still seeking a first provincial success after five attempts.

Points from Conor O'Leary and Rory Jacob brought the Wexford champions level but that was a close as they got to their opponents.

James Gorman put Kilcormac-Killoughey and with Ciaran Slevin, Geraghty, Damien Kilmartin and Gorman again chipping in with scores they held a 1-07 0-07 advantage at the break. 

The winners continued to play all the purposeful hurling on the resart and went 1-10 to 0-08 clear on 43 minutes. Kilcormac-Killoughey added further points from Brian Leonard and Ciaran Slevin although the gap was down to two points entering the final stages.

However, Dan Currams was again to the fore to seal a famous win for the Faithful men.