The Leinster Council have confirmed that the 2013 O’Byrne Cup will be played in a league basis, while the Walsh Cup format remains unchanged.

The O’Byrne Cup will be consists four groups of four teams. Five college sides are included - Kilkenny have opted not to take part.

The O’Byrne Shield has been discontinued.

The four group winners will qualify for the semi-finals – where two teams are tied on the same points the result of their head-to-head clash will determine who comes out on top.

Group A: Longford, Meath, Louth, UCD.

Group B: Dublin, Carlow, Wicklow, DCU.

Group C: Offaly, Laois, Westmeath, Athlone IT.

Group D: Kildare, Wexford, DIT, Carlow IT.

Matches begin on 6 January, with the semi-finals on 20 January and the final one week later.

Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin, Offaly, Wexford, Antrim, Laois, Carlow, Westmeath, UCD, NUIG and DIT will contest the Walsh Cup.

The draw for the competition has also taken place with Wexford hosting DIT and a match against Offaly the prize for the winner in the quarter-finals.

Westmeath take on NUIG with Kilkenny awaiting the winners.

Dublin will take on the victor in the match between Laois and UCD.

Carlow and Antrim will battle to take All-Ireland finalists Galway.

The first round takes place on 20 January, with the quarter-finals on 27 January and the semi-finals a week later.

The final will be contested on 10 February.

The Walsh Shield competition will be confined to first round losers only.

Arrangements for the Kehoe Cup will be made by the Leinster CCC in the next two weeks.