Jim Gavin has been appointed as Dublin's new senior football manager at the Dublin.

A Dublin County Board meeting on Monday night confirmed that Gavin would take over the post made vacant following the resignation of Pat Gilroy.

He had been hotly tipped to take over the role on the back of leading the Dublin under-21 team to All-Ireland titles in 2010 and 2012, and has been rewarded for this success with a three-year deal.

The team of selectors will be announced at a later date - but speculation suggests Mick Bohan, Declan D'Arcy and Davy Byrne will be present.

Gavin himself was a member of Dublin's 1995 All-Ireland winning side and played with Round Towers in Clondalkin.

Pat Gilroy attended the meeting and thanked the clubs for their co-operation with him during his term as manager.

He said it was an honour and a privilege to assist his county.

At the same meeting, it was confirmed that Anthony Daly would continue with the Dublin senior hurling team for 2013.

Daly's selectors will be Richie Stakelum (Kilmacud Crokes) and Ciarán Hetherton (Craobh Chiaráin).

John McEvoy, who was the senior hurling team coach and a selector for the past two years, has decided not to continue due to other commitments.

Vincent Teehan has also stepped down after serving four years as a selector.

Daly's decision to go for a fifth year with Dublin comes on the back of a disappointing 2012, which saw the 2011 National League champions relegated from Division 1.