A mixture of Ireland’s top hurlers and lesser-known names form Joe Dooley’s 18-man squad to play against Scotland in the shinty compromise rules clash on Saturday in Kildare.

Kilkenny’s Michael Rice will lead the side, with Tipperary’s Eoin Kelly and Brendan Maher also in the team. Offaly’s Joe Bergin is also in the side.

The remainder of the squad come from nine counties.

The first Test will be in Athy on Saturday, throw-in at 3pm. The second leg is in Inverness, Scotland, a week later. There will also be an under-21 fixture before both games – Limerick’s Declan Hannon features for Ireland.

Dooley’s management team is comprised of Kevin Ryan (Carlow) and Jim McKernan (Antrim). Michael Walsh and John Meyler oversee the under-21s.

P Mullaney (Laois), A Graffin (Antrim), C Donnelly (Antrim), D Kennedy (Kildare), T Murnane (Kerry), B Maher (Tipperary), K Divilly (Kildare), E Price (Westmeath), M Rice (Kilkenny, capt), W Hyland (Laois), B Murtagh (Westmeath), E Nolan (Carlow), J Bergin (Offaly), E Kelly (Tipperary), A O’Brien (Wicklow), D Maguire (Tyrone), J Doran (Kildare), S Morley.

E Reilly (Laois), M Armstrong (Antrim), J Coyne (Roscommon), D English (Carlow), J Gilligan (Westmeath), C Grogan (Tyrone), D Hannon (Limerick), J Leahy (Kerry), A McGrath (Westmeath), B Murphy (Kerry), K Murphy (Westmeath), S Nolan (Kerry), D O’Connell (Kerry, capt), B O’Meara (Westmeath), E O’Neill (Kildare), M Purcell (Kildare), M Quinn (Leitrim), O Walsh (Kilkenny).