The 1999 Hurling All-Stars selection has been announced, and there are 11 first time recipients on the team selected. All-Ireland Champions Cork received six All-stars, while runners up Kilkenny won four awards with DJ Carey picking up his seventh award equalling the record of former Kilkenny goalkeeper Noel Skehan. Clare have had two players chosen as do Offaly, while Tipperary's only recipient is mid-fielder Tommy Dunne. The major talking point may be the fact that Clare goalkeeper David Fitzgerald has been overlooked despite a great summer campaign. Fitzgerald recently recieved a 2-month ban for involvement in an after-match incident at this year's Munster Under-21 final.

The full line out is: 1. Donal Óg Cusack (Cork), 2. Fergal Ryan (Cork), 3. Diarmuid O'Sullivan (Cork), 4. Frank Lohan (Clare), 5. Brian Whelehan (Offaly), 6. Brian Corcoran (Cork), 7. Peter Barry (Kilkenny), 8. Andy Comerford (Kilkenny), 9. Tommy Dunne (Tipperary), 10. DJ Carey (Kilkenny), 11. John Troy (Offaly), 12. Brian McEvoy (Kilkenny), 13. Seanie McGrath (Cork), 14. Joe Deane (Cork), 15. Niall Gilligan (Clare)

In other news, former Galway centre-half forward Con Colman, now a member of the O' Donovan Rossa club in Belfast, is named in the middle of the Antrim attack for Sunday's long delayed 'B' football championship final with Fermanagh in Casement.

Colman is one of a number of changes from the National League team beaten by Offaly in Tullamore last weekend. Regular mid- fielder Eddie Quinn, is out with flu, so that means a change at centre field with namesake Joe Quinn and Sheeny McQuillan forming a new partnership.

Those are the stars of today, the stars of tomorrow were in action at Croke Park this afternoon, in the Cumann na mBunscoil Church and General football finals. The games got underway yesterday, with the action continuing today at GAA headquarters and will conclude next week. Between eight and nine hundred boys and girls are taking part, and there was plenty of talented players on display.