Colm O'Flaherty is the new manager of the Tipperary senior football team. O'Flaherty who was a selector last year takes over from Colm Browne, the former Laois player. O'Flaherty himself played wit Tipperary and Munster. The appointment is timely as Tipperary face Fermanagh in the All-Ireland 'B' semi-final on Saturday.

Meanwhile, there are three changes on the Munster team to play Connacht in Sunday's Railway Cup final at Semple Stadium, Thurles. Fergal Ryan of Cork, Liam Doyle of Clare and Liam Cahill of Tipperary come in for Tom Feeney, Brian Quinn and Joe Deane.