Cork have won their 28th All-Ireland hurling crown in the last final of the century and the millennium. Trailing by a point at half time, 0-05 to 0-04, after playing the better hurling Cork had even more difficulties to overcome when Kilkenny turned up the pace in the second half. Kilkenny pulled into a three-point lead but Cork always kept in touch in a game in which both defences were on top. Kilkenny were 0-11 to 0-08 ahead and suddenly Cork moved up a gear and through Joe Deane, Ben O’ Connor and in particular the impressive Seanie McGrath Cork scored five unanswered points. Kilkenny could only manage one more score – a point from a Henry Shefflin free – and Cork held out to win their first title since 1990.