Mayo and Kerry will lock horns in the All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals, while Cork's reward for edging past Limerick is a last eight date with Dublin.

The draw took place on RTÉ Radio 1's Morning Ireland on Monday. The other two pairings pitted Connacht champions Galway against in-form Armagh, and Ulster champions Derry drawn with Clare.

The standout game is the first meeting of Mayo and Kerry in the championship since 2019 when the Kingdom had 10 points to spare in a Super 8s victory in Killarney.

The match, which will be screened live by RTÉ, will be held at 4pm on Sunday, 26 June at Croke Park. Before that at 1.45pm, Connacht champions Galway will meet Armagh - a match that will also be on RTÉ.

The first quarter-final will be held on Saturday, 25 June as Derry and Clare meet at Croke Park at 3.45pm. This will be followed at 6pm by the clash of Dublin and Cork.

"Hugely satisfied with how we ground it out playing so poorly," was manager James Horan's assessment of Mayo’s come-from-behind win over Kildare at the weekend in their round 2 qualifier.

Aidan O'Shea in action against Kerry during the Super 8s clash in 2019

Six points down after 44 minutes, last year’s All-Ireland finalists launched one of their renowned comebacks with late goals from Oisin Mullin and Jordan Flynn propelling Mayo into the last eight.

A late rally against Galway papered over the cracks of a below-par display, while they struggled to put away Monaghan in the first round of the qualifiers.

Kerry come into the game largely untested, easing as expected through a Munster campaign without ever needing to get out of third gear.

Cork put up resistance in Páirc Uí Rinn, but Kerry's class told in the final 20 minutes and finished with a dozen points to spare. They almost doubled that margin of victory over Limerick in the decider, winning with 23 points to spare in a ruthless display.

Dublin made a mockery of their league relegation by recording comprehensive, and indeed ruthless, wins over Wexford, Meath and Kildare en route to cruising to a 61st Leinster football title.

The win over the Lilywhites saw Dessie Farrell's side blitz the opposition with five first-half goals to complete 12 provincial titles on the trot, and they will be strong favourites to get over a Cork side that has edged past Louth and Limerick since a 12-point Munster defeat to Kerry.

Brian Fenton scores Dublin's fifth goal against Cork in 2019

The teams last met at the Super 8s stage 2019, with Dublin finishing strong to ease to a 5-18 to 1-17 win in Croke Park, with the Rebels seeking a first championship win over the men from the capital since the 2010 All-Ireland semi-final.

The meeting of Galway and Armagh is an intriguing tie.

The Tribesmen won Connacht the hard way, resisting a late comeback against Mayo, and proving too strong for Roscommon in the decider at Salthill. Sandwiched in between was a comfortable win over Leitrim, but Armagh were probably the one team the provincial winners wanted to avoid.

Sean Armstrong (Galway) and Caolan Rafferty (Armagh) during the last championship meeting of the sides in 2013

Kieran McGeeney's side come into the quarter-finals in serious form having accounted for All-Ireland champions Tyrone and Donegal in the qualifiers, exacting revenge on the Tir Chonaill men for their Ulster defeat.

Armagh demonstrated their attacking weaponry in Clones yesterday in a 3-16 to 0-17 win where the Orchard County enjoyed a 67% shooting accuracy.

The sides last met in championship football in 2013 when Galway caused something of shock in the qualifiers by beating Armagh 1-11 to 0-09 at Pearse Stadium.

The counties clashed in an infamous All-Ireland qualifier in 2001 when the bus carrying the Armagh team to Croke Park got stuck in traffic and was late arriving to the ground.

The Tribesmen edged the contest by a point on their way to a second All-Ireland title in four years while the Orchard County would succeed them as champions 12 months later.

The last quarter-final fixture is a meeting of the surprise package of the championship Derry and Clare.

Derry captain Christopher Chrissy McKaigue with the Anglo Celt Cup

Rory Gallagher has led the Oak Leaf County to their first Ulster title since 1998. They downed All-Ireland champions Tyrone with 11 points to spare in a statement of intent, and that was followed up with wins over Monaghan and Donegal.

The Banner recovered from a penalty shootout defeat to Limerick in the Munster Championship to successfully negotiate the qualifiers.

Colm Collins' side had two points to spare over fellow Division 2 side Meath before staging a storming fightback against Roscommon last time out. Trailing by five points in the 67th minute, they dug deep with Jamie Malone’s late score securing the win.

Derry won the league encounter in February 2-13 to 0-10.

The games will take place on the weekend of 25-26 June, with Croke Park set to confirm times and venues.

With Dublin, Cork, Kerry and Mayo on one half of the semi-final draw, it means a new team will break into the All-Ireland final for the first time in at least 19 years.

Galway (2001), Armagh (2003), Derry (1993) and Clare (1917) will all be hoping to take their place in the decider on 24 July.

Details for the potential semi-finals have also been confirmed with the winners of Galway and Armagh and Derry and Clare heading to Croke Park on Saturday, 9 July at 5.30pm. The other semi-finalists will be back at the Dublin venue the following day for a 3.30pm throw-in.


Derry v Clare - Saturday, 25 June, 3.45pm

Dublin v Cork- Saturday, 25 June, 6pm

Galway v Armagh - Sunday, 26 June, 1.45pm

Kerry v Mayo - Sunday, 26 June, 4pm


Galway/Armagh v Derry/Clare - Saturday, 9 July, 5.30pm

Cork/Dublin v Kerry/Mayo - - Sunday, 10 July, 3.30pm