Tyrone's class eventually shone through in Brewster Park as they overcame a battling Fermanagh challenge by seven points.

The All-Ireland and Ulster champions did not have it all their own way as Fermanagh put it up to them in the first half and would have felt disappointed going in one down at the break.

It was Darragh Canavan got the scoring underway before Sean Quigley answered with a free.

Niall Sludden restored Tyrone’s lead after 10 minutes before Fermanagh hit the next four scores through Quigley, Conall Jones and two from Ryan Lyons.

A Darren McCurry free stopped the Tyrone drought and the corner forward would hit two more either side of scores from James McMahon and Quigley as it was 0-07 to 0-05 to Fermanagh with half time approaching.

However, Tyrone went in front through Conor Meyler who played a one-two with Sludden before finding the net.

While Lyons responded, Cathal McShane had the last say of the half to leave it 0-08 to 1-06.

Darragh McGurn had Fermanagh level early on in the second half when he fielded a ball and blasted over but from then on it was all Tyrone.

Kieran McGeary, McCurry, McShane, Conn Kilpatrick and Brian Kennedy hit unanswered points before the game was really put to bed.

Liam Rafferty reacted quickest to Conor McKenna’s shot which came off the post to make it 2-13 to 0-09.

A Garvan Jones free gave Fermanagh their second score of the half with 60 minutes played.

Two late goals from Josh Largo-Elis and Conall Jones brought it back to a seven point game but it wasn’t enough as Tyrone progress to face Derry with a 2-17 to 2-10 win.

A sour note for Tyrone to end on was the straight red card for McKenna following an incident close to full time.

Fermanagh: S McNally; L Flanagan, J Cassidy, A Breen; J McMahon 0-1, R O'Callaghan, D McCusker; R Jones, B Horan; R Lyons 0-3 (2f), C Jones 1-1, J Largo Elis 1-0; C Corrigan, D McGurn 0-1, S Quigley 0-3 (1F, 1’45)

Subs: O Kelm for O’Callaghan (56), G Jones 0-1 (1f) for Corrigan (58), J McDade for Breen (58)

Tyrone: N Morgan; M McKernan, R McNamee, P Hampsey; R Brennan, F Burns, C Meyler 1-0; C Kilpatrick 0-1, B Kennedy 0-1 (1m); K McGeary 0-1, M O’Neill, N Sludden 0-1; D McCurry 0-6 (2f, 2m), C McShane 0-3 (1f), D Canavan 0-1

Subs: C McKenna 0-2 for O’Neill (h/t), L Rafferty 1-0 for McGeary (50), M Conroy 0-1 for McCurry (58), B McDonnell for Kennedy (62), C Shields for Canavan (69)