Shelmaliers 2-11 Gusserane-O'Rahilly's 1-10

Half-time substitute Jody Donohoe crashed home a 50th minute goal to cement Shelmaliers' second Wexford SFC crown within the space of four years at a damp Chadwicks Wexford Park on Sunday.

Aaron Murphy's goal gave Shels a 1-5 to 0-7 interval advantage before Gusserane demonstrated great potential as Mark Rossiter goaled midway through the second-half to help tie matters on 1-9 apiece.

But super-sub Donohoe had the decisive say for Shelmaliers as they added to their maiden senior crown from 2018.

The scores were tied three times inside the first 13 minutes before Shelmaliers shot clear by 0-5 to 0-3 with points from Aaron Murphy and Glen Malone (free) either side of the water break.

2016 champions Gusserane went close with a number of chances, and they had to settle for an Adrian Flynn point before being rocked by Shelmaliers’ first goal after 27 minutes.

A dash through the centre by Eoghan Nolan was thwarted before the ball broke to Aaron Murphy to net a double-scores 1-5 to 0-4 advantage.

But Gusserane responded affirmatively when closing to within 1-5 to 0-7 at the break courtesy of Mark Rossiter, Adrian Redmond and Adrian Flynn.

Conor Hearne went agonisingly close to goaling for Shelmaliers on the restart.

And although the winners stretched ahead by 1-8 to 0-8 courtesy of Jody Donohoe, Malone (free) and Páraic O’Leary, Gusserane snapped back into contention when Graeme Cullen fed Mark Rossiter for a 41st minute equalising goal, 1-8 apiece.

The scores remained tied after a further exchange before Shelmaliers then stole a march.

Donohoe edged them in front before netting the clincher after 50 minutes from a neat delivery by Eoghan Nolan.

Gusserane finished with 14 after Cillian Kehoe sustained a second yellow card as Shelmaliers celebrated Wexford glory and now await the Carlow or Louth champions in the Leinster championship on 5 December 5.

Shelmaliers: Craig McCabe; James Cash (capt.), André O’Brien, Graham Staples; Glen Malone (0-5, 4 frees), Simon Donohoe, Ross Banville; Seán Keane-Carroll, Aidan Cash; Conor Hearne (0-1), Brian Malone, Aaron Murphy (1-1); Kyle Roche, Páraic O’Leary (0-1), Eoghan Nolan (0-1).

Subs: Jody Donohoe (1-2) for Roche (HT), Mark Power for O’Leary (49), Eoin Doyle for Murphy (54), Dan Campbell for Keane-Carroll (60).

Gusserane: Micheál Ryan; Adrian Redmond (0-1), Gavin Sheehan, Jack O’Connor; Kenneth Cahill, Mark O’Neill, Eoin Ryan; Cillian Kehoe (0-1), John Roche; Adrian Flynn (0-2), Graeme Cullen, Páraic Conway (capt., 0-1); Seán Ryan, Tom Foran (0-1), Mark Rossiter (1-4, 0-1 mark, 0-2 frees, 0-1 '45).

Subs: Jack Burford for Cahill (44), Jamie Sheehan for Flynn (50), Sam Wall for Foran (60+1).

Referee: Kevin Carty (Sarsfields).