Nemo Rangers (Cork) 1-9 Newcastle West (Limerick) 0-9

Nemo Rangers led all through as they triumphed in the Munster Club SFC quarter-final at Mallow but they were made to work for victory by Newcastle West.

Ciarán Dalton's goal in the 34th minute put the Cork champions 1-6 to 0-4 ahead and Stephen Cronin extended the lead with a point just after that, but Newcastle West had five of the next six points, reducing the deficit to just two.

Ultimately though, Nemo held out and will face Kerry representatives Austin Stacks in the semi-final next weekend.

Nemo hit the ground running, Luke Connolly (three) and Dalton giving them the game’s first four points, but the Limerick champions didn’t panic and were back within one as Iain Corbett pointed on 21.

By half-time, they were still in contention, trailing 0-6 to 0-4 after Corbett’s injury-time point, but Nemo looked to have landed a significant blow on the resumption.

They couldn’t build their lead further though and Newcastle West made life difficult for them with a supremacy around the middle. Two Eoin Hurley points sandwiched by one from Thomas Quilligan cut the gap to three points again.

Though Mark Cronin edged Nemo further ahead again, Newcastle West continued to come and midfielders Corbett and Seán Murphy had points to leave just two in it with seven minutes left.

Murphy’s point proved to be their final score, through.

Nemo might have had a second goal but Michael Quilligan Jnr saved from Conor Horgan, however Connolly got his fifth point from the 45 that resulted to ensure breathing space for Nemo, earning them a place in the last four.

NEMO RANGERS: Micheál Aodh Martin; Briain Murphy, Aidan O'Reilly, Alan Cronin; Kevin O’Donovan (0-01), Stephen Cronin (0-01), Jack Horgan; Alan O’Donovan, James McDermott; Ciarán Dalton (1-01), Paul Kerrigan, Colin O’Brien; Luke Connolly (0-05, 0-01 free, 0-01 45), Mark Cronin (0-01), Conor Horgan.

Subs: Kevin Fulignati for Jack Horgan (52), Ronan Dalton for O’Brien (55).

NEWCASTLE WEST: Michael Quilligan Jnr; Michael O’Leary, Mike O’Keeffe, Darren O’Doherty; William Hurley Jnr, Stephen Brosnan (0-01), Séamus Hurley; Seán Murphy (0-01), Iain Corbett (0-03); Brian Hurley, AJ O’Connor, Thomas Quilligan (0-01 free); Eoin Hurley (0-03, 0-02 frees), Mike McMahon, Jamie Lee.

Subs: Bryan Nix for O’Connor (44), Lee Woulfe for William Hurley Jnr (50), Diarmuid Kelly for Brian Hurley (51), James Kelly for McMahon (58), Brian Foley for Eoin Hurley (60).

Referee: Pádraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)