Reigning champions Leitrim were among the winners in the first round of FBD League action as they thrashed GMIT by 16 points.

Kevin Conlon, Christy McGowan and Ciaran Gilheaney got the goals for the holders.

It was a bad day for Sligo overall as both the county side and Sligo IT lost by 0-14 to 0-5, to Roscommon and Galway respectively. Eddie Hoare scored seven of Galway's points.

Elsewhere, Mayo secured a narrow win over NUIG. The students took a 1-07 to 0-07 half-time lead thanks to Peadar O Griofa's goal but a green flag from Mark Ronalsdon inspired a second-half rally from the Connacht champions.

FBD League round 1 results

Mayo 1-13 NUIG 1-11
Roscommon 0-14 Sligo IT 0-5
Leitrim 3-17 GMIT 1-07
Sligo 0-05 Galway 0-14