The fallout has continued in Mayo GAA circles over the new management appointments with the resignation today of county treasurer Michael Diskin.

The ratification of Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly as the next senior football management team took place at last night’s County Board meeting in Castlebar.

However, today Diskin has resigned from his position following the appointment controversy.

His resignation follows that of cultural officer Gerry Bourke earlier this week and a further officer is also expected to follow suit.

Mayo chairman Paddy McNicholas apologised to delegates at last night’s meeting for “errors” made during the appointment process in which Kevin McStay was not formally interviewed for the position, despite being nominated for the managerial vacancy.

Connelly and Holmes, who have been given a three-year term, previously guided Mayo to an All-Ireland Under-21 title in 2006.

Kevin McStay on Mayo