The official Opel Gaelic Team of the Year for Football for 2006 has been announced today by the Gaelic Players Association.

The team reflects the most successful counties in this year's championship, with 15 players hailing from six different counties – Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Armagh, Cork and Fermanagh.

All-Ireland champions Kerry have six representatives – Marc Ó Sé, Tom O'Sullivan, Seamus Moynihan, Aidan O’Mahony, Darragh Ó Sé and Kieran Donaghy.

Beaten All–Ireland finalists Mayo have three players included – Alan Dillon, Ciaran McDonald and Conor Mortimer.

The six remaining places on the 2006 Opel Gaelic Team of the Year for football are filled by three Dublin players – Stephen Cluxton, Bryan Cullen and Alan Brogan, Armagh's Ronan Clarke, Cork's Nicholas Murphy and Fermanagh player Barry Owens. 

Commenting on the announcement, Chairman of the Football Selection Committee, John O' Mahony, said 'Selecting the nominations for these awards was really difficult after such an absorbing conclusion to the championship.

'Perceptions can change over the course of a single game yet I am happy that the team chosen by the GPA membership reflects well on the football.'

2006 Opel Gealic Football Team of the Year:
1 Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) 
2 Marc Ó Sé (Kerry) 
3 Barry Owens (Fermanagh) 
4 Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry) 
5 Seamus Moynihan (Kerry) 
6 Bryan Cullen (Dublin) 
7 Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry) 
8 Nicholas Murphy (Cork) 
9 Darragh Ó Sé (Kerry)
10 Alan Dillon (Mayo)
11 Alan Brogan (Dublin)
12 Ciaran McDonald (Mayo)
13 Conor Mortimer (Mayo)
14 Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
15 Ronan Clarke (Armagh)