All Ireland Champions Kerry came from behind to retain their Munster crown against a very spirited and determined Cork challenge at Pàirc Uì Chaoimh on a scoreline of 1-11 to 0-11.

Played on the warmest day of the year, the home side really put it up to the Kingdom, by leading throughout the first half and only going behind to the only goal of the game seven minutes after the break.

The scores on the day where certainly spread around both teams, with no fewer than 16 players getting on the scoresheet, seven for Cork and nine getting on target for the champions.

Cork lifted the hopes of their fans in the 32,000 attendance by scoring two opening points in the first ninety seconds, through Conor McCarthy and John Hayes. James Master and a fine effort from the right wing by half back Noel O'Leary were further encouraging signs for Billy Morgan's young side.

But with water bottles being thrown into the players at every break in play, Kerry were always with the Cork challenge, and three points was the most they trailed at any stage in the first half.

Points from Dara Ò Cinnèide, Marc Ò Sè, Liam Hassett, Eoin Brosnan, Colm Cooper and Michael F Russell left Cork just a point in front at the break, 0-8 to 0-7.

The turning point in such a close encounter was always going to be a goal for either side, and when it arrived, it was worth waiting for.

Captain Declan O'Sullivan burst through to fire a shot past goalkeeper Kevin Dwyer with a low shot, for what proved to be the clinching score on 42 minutes.


Kerry: D O'Sullivan 1-0, C Cooper, T Ò Sè and D Ò Cinnèide 0-2 each, MF Russell, L Hassett, M Ò Sè, E Brosnan and D Ò Sè 0-1 each.

Cork: J Masters 0-3(0-2f),J Hayes, M Ò Crònìn (2f) 0-2 each, F Goold, C McCarthy, N O'Leary, P Clifford 0-1 each.

CORK: K O'Dwyer; N Geary, G Canty, G Murphy; N O'Leary, A Lynch, E Sexton; N Murphy, D Kavanagh; J Masters, C McCarthy, K McMahon; J Hayes, F Gould, M O'Cronìn. Substitutes; P Clifford and BG O'Sullivan for F Goold and M O'Crònìn 46 mins, K O'Connor for Geary 53, K O'Su llivan for Hayes 64, A Cronin for McMahon 66.

KERRY: D Murphy; A O'Mahony, M McCarthy, T O'Sullivan; T O'Se, S Moynihan, M O'Se; E Brosnan, D O'Se; P Galvin, D O'Sullivan, L Hassett; C Cooper, D O'Cinnede, MF Russell Subs; W Kirby for Galvin 52 mins, E Fitmaurice for M O'Sè 52, B Sheehan for O'Sullivan 58, K Donaghy for Hassett 62.

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath).