Derry beat Limerick in Hyde Park, Roscommon today on a scoreline of 0-10 to 0-07 to advance to the quarter-finals of the Bank of Ireland senior football championship.

Limerick started the brighter in a physical game that didn't really catch fire in the first half. With twenty-five minutes elapsed, the Treaty men led by 0-03 to 0-02 with Conor Fitzgerald and Muiris Gavin giving the men in green the lead before Enda Muldoon stepped up with two pointed frees to level.

An Eoin Keating point was cancelled out by Muldoon again to level at three-apiece before Michael O'Brien put Limerick ahead at half-time on a scoreline of 0-04 to 0-03.

Derry had the wind in the second half and capitalised on it as they knocked over three unanswered points in the first fifteen minutes through Johnny McBride, Paddy Bradley and Conleth Moran to take a two-point lead.

Limerick would not relinquish their lead without a fight however, and a Conor Fitzgerald point was followed by two from Eoin Keating to restore a one-point advantage with eight minutes to go. 

Then it all fell apart. Gavin Donaghy was brought on and immediately added to Enda Muldoon's levelling point on the 64th minute. Three minutes later Limerick lost Johnny McCarthy when he was sent-off for a second bookable offence and Derry added two more points through Conleth Murray and Muldoon again to ensure the Oakleaf county's passage to the quarter-finals.

Filed by Barry J Whyte