Ireland's International Rules captain Anthony Tohill is a surprise omission from the nominations for this year's Eircell Vodafone All Stars. Thirteen players from the All Ireland Football Champions-Galway were nominated. The two Galway men to lose out are Ja Fallon and Tommy Joyce.

Meath and Kerry each have six nominees, while Westmeath and Derry both have four, despite Tohill's absence. Dublin and Tyrone each have three nominees, Mayo have two and Cork, Donegal, Roscommon and Sligo all have one apiece. The Football and Hurling All Stars will be honoured at a Gala Banquet on 30 November at the City West Hotel in Dublin, shown live on RTÉ.

Eircell Vodafone All Star Nominees:

Goalkeepers Alan Keane (Galway); Cormac Sullivan (Meath); Declan O'Keeffe (Kerry).

Defenders Kieren Fitzgerald (Galway); Tomás Mannion (Galway); Seán Óg de Paor (Galway); Gary Fahey (Galway); Richie Fahey (Galway); Declan Meehan (Galway); Mark O'Reilly (Meath); Darren Fay (Meath); Gareth Doherty (Derry); Seán Marty Lockhart (Derry); Michael McCarthy (Kerry); Séamus Moynihan (Kerry); Coman Goggins (Dublin); Peadar Andrews (Dublin); Ray Connelly (Mayo); Declan McCrossan (Tyrone); David Mitchell (Westmeath); Francie Grehan (Roscommon).

Midfielders Kevin Walsh (Galway); Rory O'Connell (Westmeath); Cormac McAnallen (Tyrone); David Brady (Mayo); Fergal Doherty (Derry); Darragh Ó Sé (Kerry).

Forwards Padraig Joyce (Galway); Michael Donnellan (Galway); Derek Savage (Galway); Paul Clancy (Galway); Joe Bergin (Galway); Ollie Murphy (Meath); Evan Kelly (Meath); Graham Geraghty (Meath); Ger Heavin (Westmeath); Dessie Dolan (Westmeath); John Crowley (Kerry); Mike Frank Russell (Kerry); Stephen O'Neill (Tyrone); Dessie Farrell (Dublin); Paddy Bradley (Derry); Eamon O'Hara (Sligo); Colin Corkery (Cork); Brendan Devenney (Donegal).

Filed by Greg McKevitt