Sligo 0-16 Kildare 0-15

Fourteen-man Sligo have completed a famous victory over Kildare in round three of the Championship play-offs at Croke Park this afternoon. Sligo were already underdogs before the dismissal of corner-back Neil Carew after just eight minutes for an off-the-ball clash. Kildare used the extra man advantage to invite Sligo to attack, and the superb Dessie Sloyane punished the Lillywhites' defence with a string of points from frees and play. At the other end, Eddie McCormack and Tadgh Fennin were both denied goals by Sligo keeper James Curran, and Kildare were four points down before Padraig Brennan, McCormack, John Finn and Anthony Rainbow all pointed to leave just a single point's difference at half-time.

When Kildare scored five points to one in reply, it looked as if the favourites were finally going to take control. Brennan scored three times, and Dermot Earley and Martin Lynch also chipped in with points. The turning point for Sligo was the introduction of Dara McGarty and Nigel Clancy, who added renewed impetus to the Sligo cause. Aided by Eamon O'Hara's powerful surging runs, they hit six points on the trot against stunned Kildare. Sloyan claimed three while McGarty, Gerry McGowan and substitute Padraig Doohan also pointed. Kildare fought back in the final five minutes with scores from John Doyle and McCormack but unfancied Sligo held on to claim a famous victory on their first outing at GAA headquarters in 26 years.

Filed by Greg McKevitt