Ireland have won the Aga Khan Trophy for the first time since 2015 after beating France in a thrilling jump-off at the RDS.

Conor Swail and Count Me In sealed the victory in the Nations Cup event, with Cian O'Connor and Kilkenny forcing the head-to-head against France with a clear round when both teams were level on four penalty points.

France's Marc Dilasser and Arioto Du Gevres posted a time of 31.81 seconds after a clear round, but Swail and Count Me In scorched around in 30.31 to deliver the verdict for an Ireland team which also featured Shane Sweetnam and James Kann Cruz, and Max Wachman and Berlux Z.

Switzerland finished third on eight faults, with the Netherlands finished fourth, Brazil fifth, USA sixth and Norway seventh.

The marks the 24th time that Ireland has won the Aga Khan since its first running in 1926 and crowns an outstanding season for Irish equestrian sport that has seen multiple European and World Championship medal wins, along with team qualification for the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris.

"Coming here, I thought we had a very good chance," Ireland's chef d'equipe Michael Blake said afterwards.

"We started off really, really well and then had a few uncharacteristic mistakes. Cian was cool under pressure to get us into the jump-off and that kept us alive, and then Conor was just amazing."

Blake paid tribute to the RDS crowd and all those who made the win possible, adding: "I am so thrilled. I just can't believe the reaction of the crowd. To walk around the arena and hear them, full marks to them. They understand the sport and it means so much to them and it means so much to us.

"We win plenty of Nations Cups but nothing compares to this. I want to thank everyone involved who helped to make this happen, our grooms, owners, staff working behind the scenes and everyone at Horse Sport Ireland."