Defending champions Ireland have named their squad for the 2021 Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup final at Real Club De Polo in Barcelona next week.

This will be the 109th edition of CSIO Barcelona, the oldest international sporting event in Spain and host venue for competitions at the 1992 Olympic Games.

Ireland won the event in dramatic fashion in 2019 – a result which also secured Olympic qualification.

After the cancellation of the 2020 final due to Covid-19, Ireland have had a two-year wait to defend their title and this year's squad, named by team manager Michael Blake, features a mixture of youth and experience.

Michael Duffy, Michael G Duffy, Darragh Kenny, Denis Lynch and Eoin McMahon are the Irish riders.

The Irish squad for the 2021 Longines FEI Nations Cup Final in Barcelona is:

  • Galway’s Michael Duffy with Zilton SL Z
  • Mayo’s Michael G Duffy with Lapuccino 2 (ISH)
  • Offaly’s Darragh Kenny with VDL Cartello
  • Tipperary’s Denis Lynch with Cristello
  • Clare’s Eoin McMahon with Chacon 2

A total of 21 nations will compete.

Ten from Europe, three from North America, three from South America, two from the Middle East, two from Asia/Australasia, one from Africa and another from Eurasia in addition to Spain as the host country, are qualified to take part.

The opening competition is in Barcelona on Friday 1 October.

The top 10 teams will then qualify for the final to be held on the while the remaining teams will take a place in the Challenge Cup final 24 hours earlier.