Mexico have won the Aga Khan Trophy at the RDS with the Irish team missing out on a jump-off after a four-fault final round. 

Ireland finished joint second along with France and Italy. 

A tense competition was not decided until the very last horse left the arena, with Mexico, led by Stanny Van Paesschen, finishing on a two round total of eight faults to take victory. Italy, France and the home team from Ireland all finished on 12 faults in a share of second place, ahead of USA in fifth, Britain in sixth, Netherlands seventh and Switzerland in eighth.

Ireland were in the lead at the halfway stage, after Cork's Shane Sweetnam got Rodrigo Pessoa's team off to an excellent start when he jumped clear with Main Road when first to go.

Co Louth's Mark McAuley then also completed a foot-perfect clear aboard Utchan De Belheme, before Limerick's Paul O'Shea and Skara Glen’s Machu Picchu came home with just four faults.

Last to go in the first round for Ireland, Mayo's Cameron Hanley and the 9-year-old Quirex jumped a brilliant clear round under pressure, meaning Ireland could discard the four faults for O'Shea and finish the first round on a zero score.

Italy were lurking close behind in second on four faults, while France, USA and Mexico were in a share of third place at that stage on eight faults.Sweetnam lowered a single fence second time out, before McAuley and Utchan De Belheme were eliminated for an uncharacteristic two refusals.

The pressure was then really on Ireland's last two riders knowing every fault would count. O'Shea lowered a fence at the first part of the combination, but brought it home on just the four faults to keep Ireland in the hunt.

With the just the last line riders left to jump, Ireland, France, Mexico and Italy were all tied for the lead on eight faults. Cameron Hanley entered the arena as last to jump, knowing a clear round would put Ireland into a jump-off with Mexico. He was clear coming into the closing stages of his round, however a light rub at the combination saw a pole fall to the floor, leaving Mexico to celebrate a famous win.