The Republic of Ireland Women's Team won the World Darts Federation World Cup in Denmark on Saturday.

In doing so, Ireland became the first nation other than England or the Netherlands to win the event.

The team was made up of Dubliners Robyn Byrne and Katie Sheldon, Caroline Breen from Galway and Kilkenny’s Aoife McCormack.

Ireland went unbeaten throughout the entire tournament, seeing off Luxembourg, France, Mongolia and Norway in the group stages.

They beat the Netherlands in the last 16, before wins over Australia and Sweden set up a finale against Wales.

That match went down to the wire with Ireland claiming a 9-7 win, McCormack taking out the winning double with last dart in hand.

Robyn Byrne, Katie Sheldon, Caroline Breen and Aoife McCormack

"If feels amazing, I couldn’t believe it," team captain Byrne, whose side also finished joint second in the medals table, told RTÉ Sport.

"Going into the final, we were the dark horses but we took the lead early and backed it up.

"It wasn’t routine at all. Aoife took out a 16 with 11, treble one and double one so it was dramatic stuff."

The Ireland Youth team of Sean McKeon, Christina Byrne, Adam Dee and Rebecca Allen finished second overall in their category, while 14-year-old Allen reached the final of her section.

Allen and Christina Byrne came away with a bronze medal in their pairs event.

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences