Scotland won their second World Cup of Darts title in three years as John Henderson and Peter Wright delivered victory over Austria in Sunday's final.

It was a second title for Wright, who won in 2019 alongside Gary Anderson, and first for Henderson, who took part last year but crashed out in the second round alongside Robert Thornton.

Scotland became the third nation to claim the title more than once after England and Holland.

To do so, they twice had to come through last-leg shootouts on the day, edging out the Dutch in Sunday afternoon’s quarter-final before seeing off Wales pair Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton in the semi-finals.

That set up a final against Austrian duo Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez, aiming to become the first unseeded nation to win the tournament.

Suljovic beat Henderson and Wright saw off Rodriguez in the singles matches to leave it all square going into the pairs contest.

Austria charged into a 3-0 lead but missed five match darts – an invitation Scotland did not pass up.

Ireland were beaten 5-4 by Portugal in the opening round while Northern Ireland were eliminated by Austria at the quarter-final stage.