Sam Bennett will lead 22 riders to represent Ireland at the UEC European Road Championships in Trento on Wednesday.

Bennett will make his return to racing to lead the Irish team after injury forced him out of the 2021 Tour de France.

The Carrick-on-Suir sprint specialist will be hoping to regain some of his early season form which saw him take seven victories before injury struck.

Bennett will be joined in the Elite Men's Road Race by Ryan Mullen, Conn McDunphy and Matthew Taggart.

Time triallist Ryan Mullen will be a key ally for Bennett at the European Championships and is set to join him at BORA-Hansgrohe for the 2022 season.

Mullen and reigning Time Trial national champion Conn McDunphy will compete in 22.4-kilometer sprint on Thursday.

Megan Armitage and Ellen McDermott will represent Ireland in the Elite Women’s Road Race on Saturday.

Ireland will send a large Under-23 and Junior contingent competing across both the Road Race and Time Trial. The U23 Men’s Road Race team comprises of Kevin McCambridge, Aaron Wade, Dillon Corkery, Adam Ward, Devin Shortt and Matthew Devins. Both McCambridge and Wade will also ride the Time Trial.

Caoimhe O’Brien, Darcey Harkness and Lucy O’Donnell are selected for the U-23 Women’s Road Race.

  • Elite Men’s Road Race: Sam Bennett, Ryan Mullen, Conn McDunphy, Matthew Taggart
  • Elite Men’s Time Trial: Ryan Mullen, Conn McDunphy
  • Elite Women’s Road Race: Megan Armitage, Ellen McDermott.
  • U23 Men’s Road Race: Kevin McCambridge, Aaron Wade, Dillon Corkery, Adam Ward, Devin Shortt, Matthew Devins.
  • U23 Men’s Time Trial: Kevin McCambridge, Aaron Wade.
  • U23 Women’s Road Race: Caoimhe O’Brien, Darcey Harkness, Lucy O’Donnell.
  • Junior Men’s Road Race: Darren Rafferty, Conal Scully, Ronan O’Connor, Adam Gilsenan, Dean Harvey, Ruairí Byrne.
  • Junior Men’s Time Trial: Darren Rafferty, Conal Scully. Junior Women’s Road Race: Aoife O’Brien.



8.15am Junior Women Individual Time Trial

9.45am Junior Men Individual Time Trial

1.30pm Team Relay (Men/Women Team Time Trial)


8.15am U23 Women Individual Time Trial

9.45am Elite Women Individual Time Trial

1.15pm U23 Men Individual Time Trial

3.00pm Elite Men Individual Time Trial


8.00am Junior Men Road Race

12.50pm Junior Women Road Race

3.30pm U23 Women Road Race


8.00am U23 Men Road Race

1.15pm Elite Women Road Race


11.30am Elite Men Road Race